Weddings

Today I’m inspired by…weddings. We just went to an outdoor garden wedding on Friday night and it was simple and lovely. So, naturally,  I went to The Knot to find some more inspiring wedding-ish colors and ideas. I couldn’t believe all of the great photos they had on their website. Amazing! Here is just a few different things that caught my eye.

First, you’d need invitations. These yellow and gray invites are by Kenzie Kate . Inspiration point: How could you not love the yellow/gray/white combination? It’s super trendy!

Kenzie Kate stationary

And some wedding programs…these are from Paper-Girl. Inspiration point: use as a template for a mini-book.

Wedding Programs by Paper-Girl at The Knot

Beautiful flowers next…by Wedding Flowers by Lisa. Inspiration point: LOVE the bright green and coral combination!

Calla lillies and cymbidium orchids

Calla lillies and cymbidium orchids

I love this next bouquet by Gloriosa Designs. Inspiration point: the colors are fabulous and it inspires me to do sort of a shabby-chic style layout.

Hydrangeas, sedum, roses, etc.

Hydrangeas, sedum, roses, etc.

This bouquet by Petal’s Edge Floral Design is so happy! Inspiration point: these are my “happy colors” the pink, green, and blue from the dress. I will have to finish my mini album on my happy colors soon!

Roses, dahlias, cymbidium orchids

Roses, dahlias, cymbidium orchids

These flowers are by Old Glory Ranch. Inspiration point: I love the yellow, green and teal with an unexpected bits of cranberry color.

Roses, micro poms, solidago, hypercium berries

Roses, micro poms, solidago, hypercium berries

Reception decorations…the centerpieces and ideas on The Knot are very inspiring. Here is a couple that were definitely not your run-of-the-mill ideas.

This centerpiece was featured at a wedding that was in a coastal city. Inspiration point: I love the colors in this photo and I think the pincushion protea could inspire a cute paper-pieced flower.

Pincushion protea and stones

Pincushion protea and stones

These Origami paper cranes were made by family and friends  of the couple. Tradition says they should have 1,000 paper cranes but their family made a few more than that. Could you imagine 1,000 paper cranes hanging like this? Awesome. Inspiration point: I love the mix of patterned paper they used and here is a YouTube video on how to make a paper crane: How to Make an Origami Peace Crane.

Origami cranes The Knot

And who could forget the cake?

I liked the lines on this cake by Michelle’s Patisserie- simple and unique. Inspiration point: the stripes would make a great border on a page and I like the pale colors with the chocolate brown.

Michelle's Patisserie on The Knot

This cake is by Custom Cakes. Inspiration point: The thick stripes with the flowers inspires me to create a border. I also like the combination of navy, white, lime and pink.

Sugar paste lilies and orchids by Custom Cakes on The Knot

Mmm! I might have to check out the dresses next time!

July 11, 2009. Tags: , , . Colors, Flowers, Weddings.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

